Facebook pixel
Go to home page

Ka Cotter to Lead BrainHealth Advisory Board

Center for BrainHealth

Ka Cotter, retired Staubach Company vice chair, will officially take the reins as Center for BrainHealth advisory board chair on April 1. Center for BrainHealth founder and chief director Dr. Sandra Bond Chapman, and current advisory board chair Debbie Francis, made the announcement in February at the advisory board meeting.Mrs. Cotter played a pivotal role in growing the Staubach Company from a one-office real estate firm in Dallas to a global real estate advisory company that was acquired by Jones Lang LaSalle in 2008. Now she advises high-growth companies, small businesses and community leadership. In addition to her four years on the Center for BrainHealth advisory board, she also serves on the boards of the Perot Museum, 4word.org and WiNGS for Women (formerly YWCA).“This is indeed an impressive organization that is well on its way to changing the way people think about and care for their brains,” said Ka Cotter. “It is my pleasure to be able to help leverage our board to expand the reach of this noble cause.”As the new advisory board chair, Mrs. Cotter is charged with energizing the Center’s 90-member board. Comprising some of the city’s most active philanthropists and community leaders, the Center welcomes recent board members including Stacey and Dan Branch, Amy Burgher, Susan Garcia, Brill Garrett, Marena and Roger Gault, Heather Gilker, Elizabeth Hughes, Dr. Eric Kildebeck, Shirley and Bill McIntyre, Keana Meyer, Amanda and Anson Reilly, Phil Ritter and Bob White.Mrs. Francis, Mrs. Cotter’s predecessor, served as chair for more than 15 years. Expressing her high esteem and support for Mrs. Cotter, as well as her continued commitment to the cause of brain health, Mrs. Francis said, “One: you are in highly, HIGHLY capable hands, and two: I am not going anywhere.”Mrs. Francis will remain on the board but will turn her focus to fundraising for Center for BrainHealth’s newest initiative, BrainHealth 2027 – a global effort to double brain performance in the next 10 years. Fellow advisory board member Patty Huffines is co-leading that effort.The executive conference room at the Brain Performance Institutehas been named in honor of Debbie Francis and her tenure as advisory board chair.Mrs. Cotter will be the Center’s third advisory chair. Prior to Mrs. Francis, founding chair Shelia Schlosberg was the first to grace the leadership role in 1999.CONTACT Stephanie Hoefken 972.883.3221 stephanie.hoefken@utdallas.eduABOUT CENTER FOR BRAINHEALTH Center for BrainHealth®, part of The University of Texas at Dallas, is a translational research institute committed to enhancing, preserving, and restoring brain health across the lifespan. Major research areas include the use of functional and structural neuroimaging techniques to better understand the neurobiology supporting cognition and emotion in health and disease. This leading-edge scientific exploration is translated quickly into practical innovations to improve how people think, work and live, empowering people of all ages to unlock their brain potential. Translational innovations build on Strategic Memory Advanced Reasoning Tactics (SMART™), a proprietary methodology developed and tested by BrainHealth researchers and other teams over three decades.

Share this article

Related Information

Two Tapped for BrainHealth Advisory Board

Beginning Sept. 1, Roger Gault will take over Ka Cotter’s role as advisory board chair for the University of Texas-Dallas Center for BrainHealth. David Jacobs will take over Eric Bennett’s role as vice-chair.