Facebook pixel
Go to home page

2021 Friends of BrainHealth Award Recipients

Center for BrainHealth

The Center for BrainHealth, part of The University of Texas at Dallas, recently hosted the annual Friends of BrainHealth Scientist Selection Luncheon at the Dallas Country Club. The 2021 Visionary New Scientist Award was determined by a live audience vote among three finalists. The recipients of three other awards that had previously been selected were also recognized. All the awards were made possible by Friends of BrainHealth donors.The award recipients are:Paulina Skolasinska, MA, was selected by the Friends members during the program to receive the 2021 Visionary New Scientist Award for her project, Use it (Then Relax) or Lose it: Impact of Interleaved Cognitive-Meditation Training on Cognitive Function and Large-Scale Brain Networks in Healthy Aging.Hyun-Woong Kim, PhD, received the Linda and Joel Robuck Visionary New Scientist Award for his project, Investigating Neural Mechanisms Underlying Rhythm-Based Language Rehabilitation for Children with Developmental Language Disorder.Gayathri Maruthy, MS, received the Lyda Hill Philanthropies Visionary New Scientist Award for her project, Mind your Path across Depression-Evaluating Trait Mindfulness as a Protective Buffer Against Transient Cognitive Decline in Depression.Monroe Turner, PhD, received the Jennifer and Peter Roberts Visionary New Scientist Award for his project, Neuroinflammation and Brain Fog in COVID-19 Long-Haulers.Other finalists included:Shawhin Talebi, MS, for his project, How do Environmental and Physiological Markers Track with Measures of Performance?Kathleen Tate, MS, for her project, “I don’t think I can”: Investigating the Impact of Virtual Reality-Job Interview Coaching on Anticipatory Anxiety and Negative Thinking in College Seniors.Since the Friends of BrainHealth launched, members have given a total of $3.5 million to the Center for BrainHealth and have granted more than 40 awards to emerging BrainHealth researchers. The 2021 Friends of BrainHealth members contributed $333,000 to the campaign chaired by Phil Ritter and Nancy Wilbur.The 2022 campaign launches on October 1st and is chaired by Brian Conroy and Brandi Sinclair. This will be the 15th year for Friends of BrainHealth. To become a Friend, please visit Friends Of BrainHealth.CONTACT Stephanie Hoefken 972.883.3221 stephanie.hoefken@utdallas.eduABOUT CENTER FOR BRAINHEALTH Center for BrainHealth®, part of The University of Texas at Dallas, is a translational research institute committed to enhancing, preserving, and restoring brain health across the lifespan. Major research areas include the use of functional and structural neuroimaging techniques to better understand the neurobiology supporting cognition and emotion in health and disease. This leading-edge scientific exploration is translated quickly into practical innovations to improve how people think, work and live, empowering people of all ages to unlock their brain potential. Translational innovations build on Strategic Memory Advanced Reasoning Tactics (SMART™), a proprietary methodology developed and tested by BrainHealth researchers and other teams over three decades.

Share this article

Related Information

2020 Friends of BrainHealth Award Recipients

Center for BrainHealth recently hosted the first-ever virtual iteration of the annual Friends of BrainHealth Scientist Selection Luncheon, during which Dema Abdelkarim, Mark Zuppichini, Sarah Laane, and Julie Fratantoni were awarded funds for their independently designed research studies.

2019 Friends of BrainHealth Award Recipients

The Friends of BrainHealth donor circle awarded research grants to fund independently designed research studies led by five emerging scientists: Dinesh Sivakolundu, Kathryn West, Irene Zhao, Matthew Kmiecik and Michael Lundie.